Central Government


Here’s an overview of Somalia’s government structure:

  1. Federal Republic: Somalia is officially known as the Federal Republic of Somalia. The country is divided into federal member states, each with its own regional government.
  2. President: The President of Somalia is the head of state and is elected by the Federal Parliament. The president appoints the Prime Minister.
  3. Prime Minister: The Prime Minister is the head of government and is appointed by the president. The prime minister is responsible for running the government and implementing its policies.
  4. Federal Parliament: Somalia has a bicameral parliament, consisting of the Upper House (Senate) and the Lower House (House of the People). Members of the Upper House are selected by the federal member states, while members of the Lower House are elected by the people.
  5. Constitution: Somalia has been working on a provisional constitution that serves as the supreme law of the land. The constitution outlines the structure of the government, the rights and responsibilities of citizens, and the relationship between the federal government and the federal member states.
  6. Security Challenges: Somalia has faced significant political instability and security challenges, including the presence of armed groups such as Al-Shabaab. These challenges have had a considerable impact on the country’s ability to establish a stable and effective government.

It’s important to verify this information with more recent sources, as political situations can evolve over time.